Te Arapiki Ako
"Towards better teaching & learning"

Adult Literacy and Numeracy Leadership Award

Comment on this item  
Add to your favourites
Remove from your favourites
Add a note on this item
Recommend to a friend
Comment on this item
Send to printer
Request a reminder of this item
Cancel a reminder of this item
Share |
Last updated 11 July 2013 12:02 by NZTecAdmin


Adult Literacy and Numeracy Leadership Award

Each year, the National Centre of Literacy and Numeracy for Adults presents its Adult Literacy and Numeracy Leadership Award.

Nominees must have made a notable contribution to the field of adult literacy and/or numeracy that has sector, regional or national significance. National significance here indicates significance for New Zealand, it does not mean it requires national cover.

Nominees should be educators - tutors, learning supporters, mentors, trainers, supervisors, managers or administrators - whose work benefits adult literacy and numeracy learners, specifically Māori, Pasifika and youth learners in New Zealand.


Nominations for the 2017 Award our now open. To complete a nomination form click here.

Nominations close Friday 1 September 2017 and the awardee announced on 8 September 2017, International Literacy Day.


2016 Adult Literacy and Numeracy Leadership Award

Winner: Gary Sharpe, Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki (WITT)


2015 Adult Literacy and Numeracy Leadership Award

Winner: Alison Sutton, Manager, Literacy, COMET  Auckland Te Hononga Akoranga


2014 International Literacy Day Award

Winners: Susan Reid, Consulting Services Manager, Workbase and Mark Smith, Academic Advisor, Unitec


2013 International Literacy Day Award

Winner: Rachel Bulliff, Senior Adviser, Prison Training in the Department of Corrections


2012 Inaugural International Literacy Day Awards

Winner: Bronwyn Yates, Te Tumaki, Literacy Aotearoa

Highly commended: Gary Sharpe (WITT) and Bronnie Flint (Community Colleges, New Zealand).



If you have any comments please contact us.